Solace

“When despair for the world grows in me, and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be — I go and lie down where the wood drake rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds. I come into the peace of wild things who do not tax their lives with forethought or grief. I come into the presence of still water. And I feel above me the day-blind stars waiting with their light. For a time I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.” – Wendell Berry

15491d1221474293-nature-wallpaper-forest-wallpaper21

2 responses to “Solace

  1. I’m glad that my comment helped. Walking in the woods is always helpful, especially in the redwoods. I don’t know why but whenever I enter a redwood forest with chill fog and green moss I feel calm, and at peace, but also like I want to run. Run for a long time and not get tired.
    Run with your arms up, and you will always be brave.

  2. Ryanne DeGood Saddler

    Indigo, your comment reminds me of one of my favorite scriptures of the Hebrew Bible, Isaiah 40:31
    Those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.
    They will soar on wings like eagles;
    They will run and not grow weary,
    They will walk and not be faint.

Leave a Reply

